Beware of Easy Answers

99:9
9 min readDec 16, 2019

Beware of those offering them too

Photo by Steve Halama on Unsplash

So many people are searching for answers these days. Thankfully … or not … ‘answers’ of all kinds are readily available and can be found all over the place in the medium of your choice. But are all these answers helpful? And can the people offering answers be trusted?

The people of today have so much depression and anxiety and carry a heavy burden of woes such as burnout and debt; some may even wrestle with existential dread. Meanwhile, even those who have found success feel like somethings missing, and they still don’t feel genuinely happy in spite of their accomplishments. It seems like people everywhere are feeling exhausted and starting to question: What’s the point of it all? Although the exact questions will vary by individual, the types of questions being grappled with are serious.

Faced with doubts and worries like these, there’s a resurgence of people turning to their spirituality, and/or embracing spiritual or quasi-spiritual practices. I think this is a good thing! I myself closely feel the presence of God, Jesus Christ, and my Saint in my life, and their presence gives me comfort, guidance, encouragement, and peace.

But people looking for answers to ‘the big questions’ like those above might not be in the best place mentally or emotionally. It could be an intensely painful life…

--

--

99:9

Christian Spirituality writer. Visit me @ 999online.net!! If you like my content, buy me a coffee with a tip: https://ko-fi.com/999_the_end_is_now