#shorts Part 17 — Painful Comfort

Growth is painful, comfort is stagnation

99:9
6 min readSep 20, 2021

The problem with comfort is that it’s poison to the soul. Comfort is Spiritual poison, and devastating to a Spiritual life.

999online.net

Hello Readers, hope all’s well. Time for another #shorts post.

Today’s tidbit comes from the book Addiction & Grace by Gerald May. I wrote a book review of Addiction & Grace in the previous post, which I hope you check out. I have one last topic from the book to write about before I can put it away on my bookshelf.

Comfort. We all have an urge, desire, and drive to seek comfort and be comfortable. That doesn’t only mean being comfortable at home, with all the modern creature comforts and niceties. It also means being comfortable in our relationships and everything we do. It means being comfortable in all aspects of our life. It’s part of our human nature to want to be comfortable; our corrupted and broken human nature.

The problem with comfort is that it’s poison to the soul. Comfort is Spiritual poison, and devastating to a Spiritual life.

And why is that?? Well I have an understanding of why, but it’s kind of stuck inside my head. It’s hard to articulate. But the author Gerald May…

--

--

99:9

Christian Spirituality writer. Visit me @ 999online.net!! If you like my content, buy me a coffee with a tip: https://ko-fi.com/999_the_end_is_now