#shorts

#shorts Part 22 — When We Put God on Mute

We all shut out God sometimes

99:9
5 min readOct 4, 2021

--

Lord, you speak, but we are deaf.
You call, but we do not want to listen. David Clowes, Let Us Pray: 120 Prayers for all Occasions, Prayer #50, Pages 52–53

999online.net

Hello Readers, hope all’s well. Time for another #shorts post.

And today’s post will truly live up to that label of “#shorts.” Sometimes that’s how it is, and that’s okay. Today’s #shorts post is a prayer. It comes from a book of prayers called Let Us Pray: 120 Prayers for all Occasions, by David Clowes.

Let Us Pray is a book of 120 short and quick prayers. David Clowes is a long-serving Methodist minister, and the prayers in his book come from his experience. I found this book when I was helping my parents clear out some of the clutter in their house. I found it in a pile of stuff and thought, “hey, that looks pretty useful.”

Now I know finding the book was another one of God’s little gifts that He’s always giving. I enjoy reading my one prayer a day from this book, which is usually one of the last things I do for the day. So this book has become part of my nighttime routine.

Anyway, enough about that. Let’s get on to the actual prayer. This prayer, #50 in the book, is about when God speaks to us, but we…

--

--

99:9

Christian Spirituality writer. Visit me @ 999online.net!! If you like my content, buy me a coffee with a tip: https://ko-fi.com/999_the_end_is_now