#shorts Part 5 — The Addiction Desert

The journey to freedom is long, painful, and terrifying, but God is with us through it all

99:9
4 min readAug 20, 2021

The desert is where battle with attachment takes place. The saga of the desert tells of a journey out of slavery, through the desert, toward the garden that is home.

999online.net

Hello Readers, hope all’s well. Time for another #shorts post.

Today’s tidbit comes from the book Addiction & Grace by Gerald May. I’ve mentioned this book before and quoted from it in my #shorts series. It’s an excellent book about the Spiritual side of addiction, with some very insightful ideas about the Spiritual significance of all aspects of addiction. I do plan to write a full review of the book for The Christian Book Corner when I get a chance. But for at least this month and probably into next month as well, I’m doing these #shorts posts.

Today’s insight from the book compares the journey of the Israelites through the desert to the process of defeating an addiction.

The Desert Journey and its Spiritual Meaning

I’m going to let Gerald May speak for himself through this quote. All I’m going to say first is that it’s a very smart metaphor, this comparison between the desert journey and the battle with…

--

--

99:9

Christian Spirituality writer. Visit me @ 999online.net!! If you like my content, buy me a coffee with a tip: https://ko-fi.com/999_the_end_is_now