The Addict’s Curse

If we don’t control our pleasure, it will control us instead

99:9
12 min readMar 22, 2021

What a hellish condition. The addict desires something more, but gets less pleasure from it. And this leads to never being satisfied, always wanting more of this addiction that doesn’t even give pleasure anymore.

999online.net

Hello Readers, hope all’s well. Time for another post.

Today’s post is something different. If you’re a longtime Reader of my blog, you know I love reading books. And that while I most often read Christian books, I make sure to insert some variety. The latest book I read, The Compass of Pleasure by David Linden, was something new for me. It was in a genre I don’t normally read (Psychology), and unlike any other book I’ve read so far. Good book.

As you may have guessed from the title, the book deals with the topic of pleasure. And pleasure can be addictive, as we all know. But the more I read, the more I grew disturbed at a brain phenomenon the book talks about. And that would be a hellish condition I can only call The Addict’s Curse. It’s a condition no one would ever want to be in, and yet countless people are. So read on, and learn more about the hellish reality of The Addict’s Curse.

How Does Pleasure “Work?”

--

--

99:9

Christian Spirituality writer. Visit me @ 999online.net!! If you like my content, buy me a coffee with a tip: https://ko-fi.com/999_the_end_is_now