The Harm of Worrying

Anxiety about tomorrow ruins today

99:9
6 min readOct 1, 2021

The victim rationalizes anticipation of disaster as prudence; anxiety in anticipation of such trials as exams and court appearances as practical rehearsals; guilt as a high sense of responsibility and morality; inappropriate worrying as human caring and great concern linked to martyred saintliness. But these are actually all devices working in the service of self-hate. They invariably destroy pleasure and happiness as well as efficiency and effectiveness in current here and now activities. They have a depleting, fatiguing, constricting effect, and are ultimately destructive to self-esteem and to one’s actual person.

Theodore Rubin, Compassion and Self-Hate, Page 76

999online.net

Hello Readers, hope all’s well. Time for another post.

Regular Readers definitely know by now I’m a real bookworm. I always have my nose in a book; I never stop. And besides Christian books I make sure to get a good amount of variety.

Christ is the Truth, and worldly wisdom (small ‘w’) is not Godly Wisdom (big ‘W’). But there is practical wisdom we can learn from secular books. We can use this practical wisdom to Glorify God by living a better life and achieving more things for Him. There’s value in reading history, science, self-help books and other genres of writing. Even some fiction…

--

--

99:9

Christian Spirituality writer. Visit me @ 999online.net!! If you like my content, buy me a coffee with a tip: https://ko-fi.com/999_the_end_is_now