The Patient Faith of Marsh Harbor

99:9
17 min readFeb 7, 2020

It’s a long road to recovery in the Abaco Islands in The Bahamas, and many obstacles lie in the way

All photos are my own

I spent most of January volunteering in The Bahamas, working to assist the recovery from Hurricane Dorian, and I just recently returned home (hence no Medium articles from me for the month). The work was in Marsh Harbor in the Abaco Islands. If you can remember the path of Hurricane Dorian on September 1, 2019, you might recall that the storm literally stopped and sat on one island for almost 36 hours while it still remained a category 5 hurricane. That was Great Abaco Island and the city of Marsh Harbor, and that is where the volunteer organization I served with, All Hands And Hearts (link) (called AHAH, below), is active and working towards helping the island to recover.

This is a brief recounting of my experience there, as well as an update on the situation in The Bahamas (current as of January) as seen from my perspective. I’m not so skilled a photographer, but I hope you find the photos interesting too.

The Damage

As our plane was descending into the Marsh Harbor airport, I noticed from the air that almost all the trees had been blown down. On the ride to the volunteer base, I saw the extent of the damage and it was clear that this area was still very much a disaster zone. The destruction was almost…

--

--

99:9

Christian Spirituality writer. Visit me @ 999online.net!! If you like my content, buy me a coffee with a tip: https://ko-fi.com/999_the_end_is_now