Thou Shalt Take Care of Yourself

Since we are all precious to God, so is our health

99:9
7 min readOct 18, 2021

(19) Or don’t you know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit who is in you? Don’t you know that you have the Holy Spirit from God, and you don’t belong to yourselves? (20) You have been bought and paid for, so honor God with your body.

1 Corinthians 6:19–20 (CEB)

999online.net

Hello Readers, hope all’s well. Time for another post.

It’s my great pleasure to inform you that the day I wrote this post, I enjoyed a refreshing swim in the morning. I’m sure you’re happy to know about that. I went to a nice, quiet little pond and river very close to my house. It’s an off-the-map, hidden place. One of the perks of living in the countryside. And swimming is one of the best and most pleasant ways to get good exercise.

But I’m not writing about my swimming pond today. I’m writing about health and exercise more generally. You may wonder what health and exercise have to do with Christianity. But I say both are fundamental to Christianity, since our bodies are temples for the Holy Spirit. We must respect and care for our bodies.

So today I highlight a few ways we can be healthier and show greater respect to our bodies. A couple ways we can make our bodies a more pleasant home for the Holy Spirit.

--

--

99:9

Christian Spirituality writer. Visit me @ 999online.net!! If you like my content, buy me a coffee with a tip: https://ko-fi.com/999_the_end_is_now